Know the list of Kings/Overlords of Nzema

HomeNewsKnow the list of Kings/Overlords of Nzema

The Nzema Kingdom, steeped in rich cultural heritage and tradition, boasts of a lineage of kings who have wielded authority and guided their people through the tides of history. From the legendary Anor Blay to the present-day monarchs, the Nzema kings have left an indelible mark on the annals of West African royalty. This article delves into the history of the Nzema kings, the evolution of their seats of power, and the legacy they have bequeathed to future generations.

The Nzema Kingdom traces its origins to the visionary leadership of Anor Blay, a revered ancestor whose foresight laid the foundation for a dynasty of kings. From the mythical beginnings of Anor Blay’s reign to the contemporary stewardship of Tumivole Awulae Kaku Aka III, the Nzema kings have steered their realm through epochs of triumph and adversity. Here is a curated list of Nzema kings who have shaped the destiny of their kingdom:

1: Anor Blay (1200-1300)

2: Anlima Fule (1300-1400)

3: Amuhyia Kpanyinli (1400-1450)

4: Dehelè Koasi (1450-1500)

5: Anor Blay Aka (1500-1550)

6: Bua Kpanyinli (1550-1600)

7: Anor Bolormane I (1600-1660)

8: Mènla Ékyi Kofi (1660-1701)

9: Koasi Ezoa Ékyi (1701-1746)

10: Anor Bolormane II (1746-1789)

11: Mieza Ékyi (1789-1820)

12: Nyanzu Aka (1820-1831)

13: Kaku Aka I (1831-1851)

(Stool Vacant: 1851-2004)

14: Kaku Aka II (2005-2013)

15: Kaku Aka III (2013-present)

The Nzema kings have presided over seats of power that served as bastions of governance and cultural heritage within the kingdom. Over the centuries, these seats have evolved and adapted to the changing needs of Nzema society. Three notable seats of power within the Nzema Kingdom include:

Beyin (Bentelebo): Established around 1200 by the Royal Nvavile/Agona clan, Beyin emerged as a center of administration and cultural exchange within Nzema territory.

Atuabo (Adoanebo): Founded between 1831 and 1835 by the Royal Nvavile/Agona clan, Atuabo became a vital hub for trade and diplomacy, fostering connections with neighboring kingdoms.

Awiaso (Akrobendo): The oldest town in Nzema land, Awiaso was founded before 1192 and was officially recognized as a seat of power in 2005 by the Royal Nvavile/Agona clan. It stands as a testament to the enduring legacy of Nzema heritage and identity.

As we reflect on the history of Nzema kingship and the evolution of seats of power within the kingdom, we are reminded of the resilience, wisdom, and cultural richness that define the Nzema people. From the visionary leadership of Anor Blay to the contemporary reign of Kaku Aka III, the Nzema kings have remained steadfast guardians of tradition and sovereignty, ensuring that the legacy of their ancestors endures for generations to come.

Recent Articles

Leave A Reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here